HOME >> ABOUT >> WBA Awards

WBA Awards

Every year, the Wisconsin Builders Association recognizes outstanding individuals within its membership whose ideas, energy, and involvement allow our organization to be recognized as one of the top trade associations in the state.

The WBA has four awards programs, including Builder of the Year, Associate of the Year, Rising Star, and Hall of Fame. Awards are given out annually at the President's Installation Dinner.

Learn more about our most recent award recipients below!

The WBA has four awards programs recognizing outstanding individuals within its membership.

Builder of the Year

The highest honor a builder member can attain. Only one award is given each year. Nominees are judged on their professionalism as well as their level of activity within WBA, NAHB, and their own community.


Doug Scott

2017 Builder of the Year

2017 - Doug Scott (SCWBA)
2016 - Brandon Bartow (MCHBA)
2015 - Don Esposito (MABA)

About 2017 Winner, Doug Scott: 
Doug Scott (Advantage Homes Inc.) has been a member of the WBA and South Central Wisconsin BA since 1990, and served as WBA President in 2009. Doug regularly attends meetings and events, frequently brings guests and/or employees to meetings, and firmly believes in doing business with a member.  He earned his degree from UW-Madison in Construction Administration, and, later, his MBA from UW-Whitewater.  In 2015, Doug was the General Contractor for SCWBA’s 10th Student Build Home, and regularly supports local youth pursuing careers in the building industry.  He regularly participates as a Parade Builder, Home Show Exhibitor, Foundation golf outing participant, and genuinely understands the value of membership.

Associate of the Year

The highest honor an associate member can attain. Only one award is given each year. Like the Builder of the Year, nominees are judged on their professionalism and level of activity within WBA, NAHB, and their own community.


Pam Van Dera

2017 WBA Associate of the Year

2017 - Pam Van Dera (MSHBA)
2016 - Sean Kelly (SCWBA & WABA)
2015 - Dawn McIntosh (MABA)

About 2017 Winner, Pam Van Dera:
Pam Van Dera (Collins State Bank) has worked in the banking industry for the past two decades as a dedicated professional, and is committed to the housing industry at all levels. She has been a WBA Director since 2012, served as Associate Vice President in 2017, and has played an active part in WBA's Finance, Nominating, and Strategic Plan committees. Locally, she has been a member of Mid-Shores Home Builders Association since 2005 and has served as their secretary since 2008. She was awarded Mid-Shore's Associate Member of the Year in 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2016, and was also given their President's Award in 2014. Pam has also given back to her community as a past member of the New Holstein Chamber of Commerce, serving as its treasurer for many years and receiving their Volunteer of the Year award.

Rising Star

Honors an outstanding member(s) who has/have actively worked toward the betterment of the housing industry by exceeding expectations over the last twelve months and is/are considered to be rising within the association.


Steve Gryboski

2018 Rising Star

2018 - Steve Gryboski (BCHBA)
2017 - Jane Gobler (CVHBA) & Mike Howe (MCHBA)
2016 - Sean Kelly (SCWBA & WABA)

About 2018 Winner, Steve Gryboski:
Steve Gryboski (Gryboski Builders) brings a high level of professionalism to the building industry. His interest and active participation in state governmental regulations of the construction business demonstrates a true commitment to the building trades. Steve continues his role as WBA Advocacy Chair this year, having also served as chair in 2017. At the national level, Steve has participated by serving as an NAHB alternate director and attends the International Builders' Show. At Brown County Home Builders Association, among many other various designations and awards, he served as president in 2001 and was awarded their Builder Member of the Year in 2002. 

Hall of Fame

An honor awarded to long-term members (20+ years) who have established a solid reputation for active leadership and participation at the local, state, and national levels.


Greg S. & Craig R.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

2017 - Craig Rakowski (MBA) & Greg Schaffer (MABA)
2016 - Steve Anderson (MABA) & Doug Scott (SCWBA)
2015 - Jim Kubasta (WHBA) & John Anderson (WHBA)

About 2018 Winners, Craig Rakowski & Greg Schaffer:
Greg Schaffer (Ashley & Furniture & ApplianceMart) has been active at all levels of the association since 1994. At the WBA, Greg served as Associate Vice President in 2008, was the Associate of the Year recipient in 2002, and is currently serving as the WB Foundation President. Locally, he has served as Madison Area Builders Association's First Vice-President in 2001, and was awarded their Associate of the Year in 2000.  Nationally, Greg was inducted into the NAHB Society of Honored Associates in 2007, recognized as NAHB's Associate of the Year in 2011, and was the driving force behind the NAHB Research Center Supply Chain Certification program. Schaffer also gives back to his community through his generous donations to association fundraisers and organizations such as Ronald McDonald House, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, and he currently serves on the Habitat ReStore Advisory Committee.

Craig Rakowski (James Craig Builders) has served the building industry and the association at the local, state, and national levels for many years, including as WBA President in 2013. He was the 2006 recipient of the Rising Star award and the 2013 recipient of the Builder of the Year award, and has recently given philanthropically to fund WB Foundation scholarships in 2018. Locally, Craig served as president of the Metropolitan Builders Association in 2005, and was also awarded as their Builder of the Year in 2007 and their Associates Choice Builder in 2003 and 2010, (recognizing a builder, remodeler, or land developer who incorporates loyal use of associate member suppliers and subcontractors.) He has been a life director of NAHB since 2014, and also served his community as chairman of Governor Walker's commission on waste fraud and abuse in 2011.

WBA Leadership: Current senior leadership, committees, and councils.

Join: Learn more about membership and request information today!