HOME >> ABOUT >> WBA Leadership

WBA Leadership

The Wisconsin Builders Association is guided by its Board of Directors and Executive Committee. The Board of Directors is comprised of approximately 150 members throughout the state and the Executive Committee is a group of 11, including senior officers.

The Board of Directors meets quarterly at WBA Member Meeting Days, and the Executive Commitee meets an additional 4 times a year. New Executive Committee and Board of Directors members are sworn in each January.

We are deeply indebted to the hard work and dedication of our volunteer leadership!

WBA Past Presidents

WBA Past Presidents

2018 WBA Executive Committee


Steve Atkins

2018 WBA President

Steve Atkins, President

Steve Atkins is the owner of Atkins Family Builders, which specializes in family friendly, moderately priced homes in the Green Bay, Appleton, and Northeast Wisconsin areas. He is a current member of the NAHB Professional Builders Council - Builder 20 Group and a board member of the Brown County Home Builders Association (BCHBA). He also is a Past President of the BCHBA. 

Contact the president directly at president@wisbuild.org.

The Board of Directors is the policy-making body of the association and is responsible for the business affairs of the organization. It is comprised of approximately 150 members representing all 21 local associations.

An annually updated list of WBA members currently holding elected or appointed positions in local or state government.

Harvey Kessel, President Elect

Harvey has been involved in the building industry for the past 40 years. He has managed several retail building material supply locations with sales of $5 million to over $68 million dollars.  He was instrumental int he formation of an installed division with over 500 units built int he Madison area.  He is currently employed by Wisconsin Building Supply as Sales Manager, and actively involved with their installed program.  His experience in both the supply and building sides of the business brings a unique perspective to the WBA Executive Committee. (MABA, Wisconsin Building Supply)

Jeff Dorner, Treasurer

Jeff started in the construction industry in 1976 as a framing carpenter, working his way through the trades.  In 1985, he joined Vans Lumber & Custom Builders as a Designer, Salesman, & Project Manager.  Jeff has been a member of  Door County Home Builders since 1990 and has served as President, Secretary, Treasurer, Show Case of New Homes Co-Chairman, Home Show Co-Chairman, and on numerous other committees. Jeff has served on the WBA Board of Directors since 2003 and is a Life Director of the WBA.  (DCHBA, Van's Lumber & Customer Builders)

Abe Degnan, Secretary

(MABA, Degnan Design Builders)

David Belman, Immediate Past President

David Belman is a second-generation home builder, Realtor®, Certified Construction Professional (CCP), NAHB Life Spike, and CAPS Certified Contractor. David has over 22 years' experience in single-family construction, land development, condominiums, and real estate.  He is President of Belman Homes and of Belman Builders, which is one of the top 10 largest builders in the Metro Milwaukee market. David has chaired the MBA's Builders Council, Green Building Council, and WBA Convention Committee, and has served on many MBA and WBA committees and task forces over the years.  David has also served as President of the Metropolitan Builders Association. (MBA, Belman Homes)

Kim Reed, Associate Vice President

(BCHBA, Associated Bank)

Ted Peotter, Associate Vice President-Elect

(WABA, Ferguson)

Brian McKee, NAHB State Representative

An active participant in his state and local home builders associations, McKee has held a number of leadership positions in WBA. He has been active as a WBA director since 1998 and served as an Area Vice President and Parliamentarian. McKee chaired the Building & Grounds Committee and the Public Relations Committee and has served on numerous other committees and councils, including Finance, Government Affairs, and Governance Bylaws.  In 2009, McKee was honored as WBA's Builder of the Year.  McKee is also involved at the national level and has served as a National Home Builders Association (NAHB) Director since 2008. McKee is an active member of the Madison Area Builders Association (MABA) and served as its President in 2002.    McKee has chaired MABA's Government Affairs committee and has served on several other committees, including Past Presidents, Finance, Silent Auction, and Parade of Homes.  In 2002, McKee was honored as MABA's Builder of the Year. (MABA, Midwest Homes)

Mike Check, Past Officers Representative

(MCHBA, Mike Check Builders)

Andy Voeltner, Advocacy Chair

(MABA, Omni Financial)

Jane Gobler, Membership & Local Officers Chair

(CVHBA, US Bank)

Committees & Councils

Building Industry Council President
Brian McKee (MABA)

Finance Committee Chair
Jim Doering (MBA)

Nominating Committee Chair
David Belman (MBA)

WB Foundation
Greg Schaffer (MABA), President
Kim Reed (BCHBA), Treasurer
Dawn McIntosh (MABA), Secretary
Trustees: Mark Albers, Mark Etrheim, Don Miller,
Tim O'Brien, Mike Vilstrup

National Representatives & Directors
Brian McKee (MABA), State Representative
Steve Atkins (BCHBA), Builder-Director
John Kassner (MABA), Associate-Director

Ron Derrick (SCVHBA) & Brian McKee (MABA), Trustees
Monica Sommerfeldt Lewis (CVHBA) & Mike Check (MCHBA), Alternates

WBA Awards: The WBA regularly recognizes excellence amongst its members.

Contact Us: We'd love to hear from you!